Who We Are

CASA Sacramento is a community-based 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to recruiting, training and supporting Court Appointed Special Advocates who serve Sacramento County’s foster children.

Founded in 1991, through major support of the Junior League of Sacramento and the Superior Court of California, Sacramento County, CASA Sacramento has sworn in over 1,815 volunteers who have served over 4,220 foster youth.

The CASA Sacramento Mission

Ensuring consistency and support for children in the foster care system through the use of volunteer advocates advancing the best interests of each child.

The CASA Sacramento Vision

Every child in need is appointed a CASA to champion them in Court, without compromise, on the path to a safe and permanent home.

Woman working with girl in court

CASAs play a unique role in their CASA youths’ lives, serving both as a mentor to the youth and as a best interest advocate before the Court.

Our volunteers help foster children by advocating for safe and permanent homes, identifying and addressing urgent needs, and developing permanent connections within communities to ensure that support will continue even after a youth has left foster care.

Today, there are over 1,200 children in care in Sacramento County. We are committed to providing one-on-one volunteer advocacy and mentorship for every foster youth in Sacramento County who needs it. So far, this year we have served 157 youth and our goal is to serve 300 by June 30, 2024.

These youth face huge odds stacked against them. From mental health issues and emotional disturbance caused by trauma to educational challenges that keep more than half of California’s foster children from graduating high school, from insufficient placements to high rates of unemployment and homelessness after leaving care, it can seem nearly impossible for foster children to find their place.

A CASA helps fight against the odds, increasing the chances for a child in foster care to lead a healthy, happy life in a safe and permanent home.

Our Team

GOVERNANCE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Elizabeth Leet Jackson, Esq. – President

Delfino Madden O’Malley Coyle Koewler LLP

Kristi Rolak - Vice President

One Workplace

Barbara Flanigan - Treasurer

Retired CPA

Jeannie Benoist – Secretary

Jeannie Benoist Consulting

Diane Koellen. – Immediate Past President

White Star Construction

Kimio Bazett

Turton Commercial Real Estate/Restauranteur

Kymla Birchette

Bank of Marin

Deborah Collura

KOVR TV

Debbie Holden

SAFE Credit Union

Theresa Holden

CSU Sacramento

Eric Jones, CPA

Cohn Reznick

Brochton Kaveny

Monte Christo Communities

John D. McPherson, PhD

UC Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center

Francesca Negri

Retired, State of CA

Jeanne Reaves

Jeanne Reaves Consulting

Benush Venugopal, MBA, ME

Deloitte

OUR STAFF

Carol L. Noreen, JD

Executive Director
(916) 875-7158
Carol@sacramentocasa.org

Matthew Romsa

Donor Relations Director
(916) 875-0163
MatthewR@sacramentocasa.org

Haley Cavanaugh

Case Supervisor
(916) 875-4975
Haley@sacramentocasa.org

Breana Figueroa

Program Coordinator
(916) 875-7479
Breana@sacramentocasa.org

Lindy Meeker

Operations Manager
(916) 875-4441
Lindy@sacramentocasa.org

Danielle Wogulis

Design & Data Manager
(916) 875-7057
DanielleW@sacramentocasa.org

Kelley Donato, MSW

Associate Director
(916) 875-6385
Kelley@sacramentocasa.org

Sarah Torres

Program Director
(916) 875-4444
Sarah@sacramentocasa.org

Athena Di

Volunteer Engagement Manager
(916) 875-0164
Athena@sacramentocasa.org

Alexandra Infante

Case Supervisor
(916) 875-0168
Alexandra@sacramentocasa.org

Jamarian Ramirez- Hayes

Intake/Referral Coordinator
(916) 875-6460
Jamarian@sacramentocasa.org

Danielle Dace

Training & Recruitment Director
(916) 875-3011
Danielle@sacramentocasa.org

Sarah Bond

Case Supervisor
(916) 875-0172
SarahB@sacramentocasa.org

Michelle Doupe

Senior Case Supervisor
(916) 875-5440
Michelle@sacramentocasa.org

Natasha Keys

Case Supervisor
(916) 875-7473
Natasha@sacramentocasa.org

Tanya Torres

Case Supervisor
(916) 875-0169
Tanya@sacramentocasa.org

Financials

Download our Annual Reports here

Help a youth in foster care thrive

CASA in the Media

Advocacy in Action: CASA’s Relevance & Necessity in the Foster Care System – The Non Profit Podcast Network, April 25, 2024

Our Partners

Interested in becoming a CASA?

Skip to content